Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer 002

Hi!

It’s a good  day for a highlighter review, don’t you think?:) The full name of the product is quite long ..

Dior Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer. Shimmering Sculpting Powder #002

If I’m not mistaken Dior Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer #001 was lauched as a part of LE autumn collection 2016. This year Dior decided beauty addicts should have more highlighters and launched three more shades and made all 4 a part of their permanent collection.

Note: Prepare.. I may be included too many photos:D

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog-main-1

In 2016 Dior launched a beautiful spring collection Glowing Gardens, a great spot of which was taken by Illuminating powder in two shades. I was drawn to the shade Glowing Pink. I so wanted it sooo wanted but couldn’t buy it at that point. It looked like something I wanted Cindy-lou to be. When I saw on some blog comparison of a new Luminizer in the shade 002 to Glowing Gardens highlighter,   I thought “Oh, here you are :)”..or something like that. They looked alike. It’s exactly the shade I wanted. I was thinking for some time about getting MAC lightscapade but each time I went to swatch it I didn’t like that the base looks subtle and I can see separate particles of microshimmer on this base. I wanted it to have uniform glow even if it has shimmer.

Ok, long story short.. here we go 🙂

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog-main-2

Diorskin Nude Air luminizer comes in a carboard box with a brush. I can imagine how I can use this brush for highlighter but I find it very uncomfortable. I want to have more precise application and not end up having highlighter all over my face.

I use Real Techniques setting brush for highlighting cheekbones and flat eyeshadow or concealer brush to highlight precisely my cupid’s bow. This brush, which you can find in a set, is not useless. I have the same one already which came with loose Dior powder. At first I thought..”What a weird brush. It feels kinda scratchy.” I gave it a try few times with a powder and it worked good but I didn’t like the feel of it. After I washed the brush it became softer and fluffier and now I like it. I keep one from highlighter now as a spare one. The brush is good for polishing but not dusting. It’s dense and if applied in circular motion both Dior loose powders I own look great on my face. Just don’t rub to hard :). But I still wonder why does this type of brush come with such product as highlighter? I wouldn’t mind having small, cute highlighter brush with a shape of Real techniques setting brush.

That’s a lot of info about brush.. pff:D

Here are brush from Dior Forever&Ever Control Loose powder ( used, several washes) and new one from Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer.

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-brush-blog

Sometimes girls include ingredients list of powders on blogs but for some reason it’s not popular for high-end/luxury makeup. If you like to read such information I covered it as well:)

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-ingredients-blog

Now let’s talk about actual highlighter. I’m terrible at describing shades. I would call it neutral ivory with hints of cool pink, metallic. Now some decription I stole “warm pink with a metallic finish”.

It was extremely hard to catch hints of pink for some reason. It’s seen under some angles and you can see it in a pan but it’s not that obvious at first.

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog1

First time I applied it I did several layers and I got this gorgeous metallic-wet glow but it was so uniform and beautiful I couldn’t believe.  Later I applied it lightly during the daytime and it didn’t look “too much” or overdone. The powder is not as soft as Mary-lou so you shouldn’t be afraid to apply first layer as 99,9% you won’t overdo it.  The colour looks quite cool-toned on swatches but it didn’t look like an unnatural shiny spot on my face. I have pretty light skin ( Lumene CC cream in Light is my current foundation, here is some more I used some time ago or tried recently Armani Luminous silk shade 3 probably would be right for me  as I tried 2 and it was a bit too pale, Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation 1.0).

Swatches. Two layers on left and one on the right.

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog-swatches

You don’t want to know how many pictures in different light I took to catch that pink hints. Interesting that when I apply it on my face I don’t see pink, may be it’s seen from side to someone..I don’t really know:). I see it pearly, ivory , glowy but can’t see that pink hint.

btw, if to move a bit further from screen pink hints are seen better:D

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog-swatches-2

Here are some photos I took on my phone and hopefully you can see on your screen at least somewhere that pink hint I’m talking about.

diorskin-nude-air-luminizer-002-blog-swatches-comparison

In this comparison you can see how subtle  Essence eyeshadow on the right is  (which I use as highlighter)and how golden Mary-lou is in comparison to other two. All pictures I choosed are taken during not so sunny days. Even on picture Mary-lou and Diorskin Luminizer look like they are on the same level of shimmer-ness but for me (on face) Mary-lou is more shimmery and more evident. If I have an opportunity to take pictures of swatches on sunlight I may be able to show what I’m talking about. Also Luminizer in shade 002 “fits” better my light skin. That of course doesn’t make Mary-lou worse it’s just a shade and texture comparison.

Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer lays smooth on skin, without dry look but the powder itself is not as buttery as Mary-lou which is a plus as you don’t need to be afraid to overapply with a first stroke. It may be just a right amount or you can always apply one more layer. But don’t think that the powder is hard and you can’t pick it up. I don’t want to confuse you. If you own theBalm Mary-lou  you probably agree with me that it’s buttery:).

I didn’t notice any fading during wear or migration of highlighter somewhere else. As I have quite oily skin I always set my foundation with a powder. So powder highlighters always go over powder.

Conclusion: Shade is just perfect. It’s really something I wanted for some time and as I don’t own anything alike I don’t regret buying it. The packaging is gorgeous and adding a highlighter seems like a some kind of ritual. Of course, it’s Dior and it comes in luxurious shiny packaging with all this boxes-brushes and so one so the price you pay is not just for the product itself. But if you have light skin, you use high-end products or you feel ok to splurge on highlighter I think it’s a beautiful-beautiful option.  I like both color and texture and the fact that I can get both subtle and evident glow effect.

 There are three golden-bronzey types of shades which cover medium and deep skintones. So you know shade 001 is very similar to theBalm Mary-lou but bit darker(if you are interested in champagne shade you can compare those two on Temptalia site).

That’s may be not the best video but here are three highlighters I compared above

Remember, don’t justify a bad product because of its brand/price. 

Do you use highlighters? What is your favorite one? What do you think about the one in this post?

P.S. This post is probably the longest one I have..or it just seems to me. But I hope you read all and didn’t fell asleep:)

Have a nice day! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer 002

  1. Yup. I can see the pinkiness (at least on my laptop).
    Yup, theBalm Mary-lou is buttery. And I think when I repressed it I managed to make it more buttery :)) I think I put a drop too much in it. But it’s ok. I’m happy I have it now without falling all over the place and I just have to be a bit careful when applying. Did I thank you enough for giving it to me? 😀
    Yup. I read it all 😀
    The shade looks very pretty. I need to swatch it next time when I see it. I’mn very curious how it would compare with Becca’s highlighter… The lightest one. I think it’s called Moonstone. I have my eye on at least a mini version of that for some time now.

    • I don’t think you should thank me for that highlighter,it wasn’t new so it was better for me to let someone try:)) I should thank you)
      About becca, we have now becca in sephora. Not all range but there are one shade set of liquid+powder(opal), travel versions of liquid(different shades),powder highlighters, blushes and some base products. I like how liquid highlighter moonstone looks but about powder i don’t think I would be able to use it very often. It’s beautiful and uniform shine but very intense. It feels buttery) I would say that Moonstone looks more shimmery on skin and more intense than this Dior one. When I tell shimmery I don’t mean it has separate big shimmer particles, it’s uniform veil of shimmer. Of course swatch with finger and with brush on face is bit different things. I think that set of liquid+small powder highlighter is a really good option to try. They will last for very long anyway) And even probably not a lot of people need full version of powder highlighter but it’s cheaper than Dior one:/ I would try Moonstone set but we have only Opal. And when it comes to ordering it I all the time change my mind. As you have good skin I think you should enjoy more pressed highlighter than me:) I saw some teenage girls trying it with fingers on face. It looked very glowy and pretty:) not subtle but that is not a minus, just different type.

      • What you discribed is the battle in my head for 3 months now :))) I now they’re very in your face highlighters and I would think I’d enjoy it but then I think I should buy a hilighter which is more daytime appropriate, as I already have Mary Lou. Hmmm verzy hard decision. I keep putting them on my wishlist and take them off :))

        • Oh, so familiar)) I have two phases of adding stuff on my wishlist. 1) I will add only things I really really want and something I need variety with 2) I will add everything i like and then will think about it 😀 I think Mary-lou is bright enough in general. But it’s also quite golden. Moonstone is different. If you get a set you will have liquid one for day and powder for evenings. If you are interested in daytime highlighter check Kevyn Aucoin the celestial powder in candelight. I soooo like it and I added it to my cart online like 10000 times:) I guess if i saw it in reality i would get it. It’s like a improved version of something I see in essence eyeshadow which I use as highlighter. It’s satin, natural, subtle.

Leave a Reply

